Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Global Conversation on the Return of Cultural Heritage

June 10, 2021 – 12:00 pm

The Illinois State Museum (ISM) will join museums, universities, and museum professionals across five continents virtually April through June to present a four-part conversation series on repatriation and the return of cultural heritage.

This series is presented by Illinois State Museum; The Museum of Us; the Canada Research Chair on Civic Museology at the University of Montreal; On Possible Futures, funded by the Maryland Institute College of Arts; Ohio History Connection; the Faculty of Information at the University of Toronto; ICOM’s International Committee on Collecting (COMCOL); and Armando Perla. Registration is required for each session. Content will also be made available through open-source publications and other forms of dissemination after the series is completed.

Museum of Us Director of Decolonizing Initiatives, Brandie Macdonald, will join the series’ final panel, “Moving Forward Together,” on June 10, 2021

Program schedule listed below:

Setting the Foundation
Thursday, April 29 at 12:00 PT/14:00 CT/15:00 ET/9:00 NZDT+1

Panelists: Sheryl Lightfoot, University of British Columbia (Canada), Sue Rowley, Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia (Canada), Te Herekiekie Herewini, The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (New Zealand)

Moderator: Armando Perla (Canada/El Salvador)

A year after the expert seminar was held at the University of British Columbia in Canada, we will discuss several of the points and recommendations made in the report with some of the organizers and attendees. In this conversation we will look at how things have changed since the expert seminar, the progress that has been made, and what remains to be done.

Indigenous Led Initiatives
Thursday May 13 at 10:00 PT/12:00 CT/13:00 ET/15:00 BRT/19:00 CET

Panelists: Lucy Bell, Haida Nation (Canada), Amy Lonetree, Ho-Chunk Nation and UC Santa Cruz (U.S.), Lis-Mari Hjortfors, Sami parliament (Sweden)

Moderator: Tricia Logan (Canada)

In this conversation with Indigenous experts, attendees will learn about repatriation initiatives led by Indigenous peoples on three continents. Some of the initiatives discussed will include the development of repatriation guides, ethical guidelines, and community advocacy.

Museum Dialogues
Thursday May 27 at 9:00 PT/11:00 CT/12:00 ET/18:00 CET/19 :00 EAT

Panelists: Adriana Munoz, Museum of World Culture (Sweden), Anabela Carlon Flores, Yaqui People (Mexico); Purity Kiura, National Museum of Kenya (Kenya); Steve Nash, Denver Museum of Nature and Science (U.S.)

Moderator: Brooke Morgan (U.S.)

This conversation will focus on the transcontinental dialogues taking place both among museums and between museums and communities to ensure the return of tangible and intangible heritage to the places and communities where they belong.

Moving Forward Together
Thursday June 10 at 12:00 PT/14:00 CT/15:00 ET/21:00 CET/22:00 SAST/9:00 NZDT+1

Register at bit.ly/gc21forward

Panelists: Brandie Macdonald, Museum of Us (U.S.); Te Arikirangi Mamaku, The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (New Zealand); George Abungu, International Standing Committee on the Traffic of Illicit Antiquities  and Okello Abungu Heritage Consultants (Kenya); Deirdre Prins-Solani,  Independent expert on Intangible Heritage (South Africa)

Moderator: Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko (U.S.)

This conversation will sum up the points discussed in previous conversations and will start a dialogue on the steps needed to continue to materialize the recommendations in the report. It will explore the creation of communities of professional practice across the globe and other actions that can strengthen the work that has been done until now.

For registration information, visit bit.ly/ISMGlobalConversations.

Details

Date:
June 10, 2021
Time:
12:00 pm

Venue

Online